Browse all

Supreme in competition for an important award

And with James Jebbia (obviously) there is Virgil Abloh

Supreme in competition for an important award And with James Jebbia (obviously) there is Virgil Abloh

The Council of Fashion Designers of America opens its doors to streetstyle.

Through a series of Instagram videos, the CFDA revealed the nominations for the 2018 Fashion Awards, surprising for the greater variety of names on the list.

In an attempt to avoid having the same small group of designers in the ballot year after year, Steve Kolb, the managing director of the organization has invited the jury to expand the circle of candidates.

“We truly want the event to celebrate the full creative spectrum and richness of American fashion” - said Kolb to WWD – “Just think of how much fashion is changing, and the diversity of our industry. Designers with broad cultural backgrounds and political ideas are expressing their experiences and beliefs in their collections. Their work deserves greater acknowledgment, acceptance and visibility.”

So among the nominees are Virgil Abloh of Off-White, Sander Lak of Sies Marjan, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel of Mansur Gavriel, Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss and James Jebbia of Supreme.

To find out if any of them will win a prize, the appointment is June 4 in Brooklyn.

Here below there is the full list of nominations.


Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Virgil Abloh, Off-White

Gabriela Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein


Menswear Designer of the Year: 

Virgil Abloh, Off-White

Thom Browne

Tom Ford

James Jebbia, Supreme

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein


Accessories Designer of the Year:

Paul Andrew

Stuart Vevers, Coach

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Irene Neuwirth

Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row


Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: 

Mike Amiri, Amiri

Laura Vassar Brock and Christopher Brock, Brock Collection

Aurora James, Brother Vellies

Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss

Sander Lak, Sies Marjan.


Swarovski Award for Positive Change: 

Diane von Furstenberg

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Narciso Rodriguez


Founders Award:

Carolina Herrera

International Award:

Donatella Versace

Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Edward Enniful