Browse all

The new Serie A captain's armband

All the teams except one will wear it

The new Serie A captain's armband All the teams except one will wear it

Starting from last season also the Serie A, as well as the Premier League has chosen to adopt a standard captain's armband to all the clubs, which has replaced the custom ones worn by Maldini, Zanetti, Del Piero and Totti. Due to the rebranding of the Italian Football Federation, which presented the new three-dimensional logo, the 20 captains armband of the 2019/2020 season has also been modified, maintaining the design of that of last season. The height decreases while the blue edges and the word "Capitano" remain, together with the new logo positioned on the left.



Of the 20 Serie A clubs, only Fiorentina maintains the original band, the one worn by Davide Astori and now on German Pezzella's left arm. Just last year the viola club had opposed the standardization of the captain's bands, clashing with decisions in line with the UEFA directions, then obtaining the derogation also thanks to the mediation of the same players. The Astori's band had been included in our list of the most iconic of all time.




Here all the Serie A captains:

Atalanta: Alejandro Gomez

Bologna: Blerim Dzemaili

Brescia: Daniele Gastaldello 

Cagliari: Luca Ceppitelli

Fiorentina: German Pezzella

Genoa: Domenico Criscito

Inter: Samir Handanovic

Juventus: Giorgio Chiellini

Lazio: Senad Lulic

Lecce: Marco Mancosu

Milan: Alessio Romagnoli

Napoli: Lorenzo Insigne

Parma: Bruno Alves

Roma: Alessandro Florenzi

Sampdoria: Fabio Quagliarella

Sassuolo: Francesco Magnanelli

Spal: Sergio Floccari

Torino: Andrea Belotti

Udinese: Kevin Lasagna

Verona: Giampaolo Pazzini